Home > Computers and Internet > Reappearing Proxy in Internet Settings Not a Virus

Reappearing Proxy in Internet Settings Not a Virus

08-May-06 08:04 am EDT Leave a comment Go to comments
I thought I had a virus….but – false alarm.  And shame on Google for not doing a better job of explaining their technology!

Was trying to regain some performance out of one of my PCs this weekend and thought I’d review browser settings – and was alarmed to find the text "http://localhost:9100/proxy.pac" in the address line beneath the "Use automatic configuration script" option within the LAN Settings dialogue (accessed form the Connections tab of Internet Options).  Each time I’d delete the line, it would reappear…and I’m like ‘what the…!?!?’

Of course, my first guess at finding something with such virus-like behaviour is – I’ve got a virus that’s slipped through all my protections.  I rescanned with Mcafee, with Grisoft AVG, and then with CA PestControl, etc., etc., etc.  Nothing.  Then it dawned on me that maybe this isn’t a virus.  I mean, these are all name-brand virus checkers – could they all be that far behind in their definitions?  Or had I been dumb enough to somehow inadvertently allow installation of a virus without thinking clearly?  Since my ego was too fragile to answer the latter question, I took the former route and started looking for evidence on the net of software that causes this configuration – and BINGO!  It’s Google Web Accelerator (GWA) – an undocumented feature too.

I figured this out by examining the output from proxy.pac at http://localhost:9100.  Therein was what I determined was a fairly standard FindProxyForURL() JavaScript function which itself didn’t seem to do any harm, but which had references to google therein.  Further searches via Google yielded a forum where this feature of GWA was discussed.

So false alarm – and figured I’d post this discovery that might save others who use GWA the needless hassle of turning their systems upside-down looking for viruses.

  1. Ross
    02-Sep-07 03:38 pm EDT at 03:38 pm EDT

     It\’s always good to feel appreciated. 😉  And to see that some of these articles I\’m positng appear in Google seaches.  I\’ve found I had to add my site a couple of times to that thing to get matches.
     

    Like

  2. Carolyn
    13-Jun-06 10:40 pm EDT at 10:40 pm EDT

    Thanks, Friend. I did what you did and found the same thing. Thought the same things, too! Ran a search on the address and stupid internet wasn\’t working so ran a virus checker for the while. Then ran a search again and found you. You relieved my mind and again, I thank you.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Terry Glavin

CHRONICLES

Techno Manor

Geek's Corner

VM.Blog.

an IT blog.. and an occasional rant

Yammer Site Status

Is Yammer down? Offline? Broken? Undergoing scheduled maintenance? When will it be back? Find out here.

jalalaj

A journey full of wonderful experiences

Azure and beyond

My thoughts on Microsoft Azure and cloud technologies

TechCrunch

Startup and Technology News

Ottawa Citizen

Ottawa Latest News, Breaking Headlines & Sports

National Post

Canadian News, World News and Breaking Headlines

Targeted individuals's

One Government to rule them all.

Joey Li's IT Zone

Everything about IT

jenyamatya

Unravelling the magik of code...

The Bike Escape

Adventures on a road bike

The Ross Report

Now you know where you need to know more...

Lights in the Dark

A journal of space exploration

ottawatraining.wordpress.com/

Using strength to improve and eliminate injuries.

The Ross Report

Now you know where you need to know more...

Little Girl's Mostly Linux Blog

Nothing to see here. Move along...

David Eedle

Geek, tech, programmer, business owner. Serial starter of things. Occasional finisher. Oh, and please don't call me Dave.

